These print books are available in the ITU Library&Archives. If you see something interesting, send us an email indicating the book title and author. We will sign out the book and send it to you by inter-office mail.
The Third Edition of this market-leading text has been updated and expanded with contemporary case material and more detailed coverage of the main topics and trends in corporate communication. New to the Third Edition: - New chapters on strategic planning and campaign management, research and measurement and CSR and community relations - Greatly expanded coverage of key areas: internal communication, leadership and change Communication, issues management, crisis communication and corporate branding - Other topics to receive new coverage include: public affairs, social media, internal branding and issues of globalization. - New and up-to-date international case studies, including new full-length case studies and vignettes included throughout the chapters. - Further reading and new questions-for-reflection will provide the reader with a means to challenge and further their understanding of each of the topics in the book. - Online teaching material for lecturers and students including: instructors manual, PowerPoint slides and new international case studies of varied length, SAGE Online journal readings, videos, online glossary and web links Praise for the Second Edition: "This is a must-have reference book for Chief Executives, Finance Directors, Corporate Communicators and Non-executive Directors in this "involve me" era of stakeholder engagement and corporate communications. How I wish I had had this book on my desk as a Chief Reputation Officer!" - Mary Jo Jacobi, Former Chief Reputation Officer of HSBC Holdings, Lehman Brothers and Royal Dutch Shell ′This is a comprehensive and scholarly analysis of corporate communications. It will offer students and practitioners alike a considerable aid to study and understanding which will stand the test of time in a fast changing business′ - Ian Wright, Corporate Relations Director, Diageo
Comprehensive and highly practical, Introducing Leadership introduces the principles and practice of leadership, from theory through to the development of the reader's own leadership ability. From the analysis of the different sources of leadership and management theory emerges a model that will provide the basis for the development of readers' own leadership skills and for the application of these through the rest of the book. Written by an experienced author in the field of management development, the book is split into three parts: Section one - the nature and role of leadership Section two - leading others Section three - leading innovation and change The learning development is clearly structured and this text also provides the underpinning knowledge requirements for Level 3 qualifications in leadership.
Completely Revised 4th Edition of the 500,000 Copy Bestseller! Coaching is a way of managing, a way of treating people, a way of thinking, a way of being. Coaching has matured into an invaluable profession fit for our times and this fourth edition of the most widely read coaching book takes it to the next frontier. John Whitmore Good coaching is a skill that requires a depth of understanding and plenty of practice if it is to deliver its astonishing potential. This extensively revised and expanded new edition of Coaching for Performance clearly explains the principles of coaching and illustrates them with examples of high performance from business and sport. It continues to follow the GROW sequence (Goals, Reality, Options, Will) and clarifies the process and practice of coaching by describing what coaching really is, what it can be used for, when and how much it can be used, and who can use it well.
While most coaching books focus on performance problems, The Coaching Manager presents a developmental coaching methodology that managers can use to help skilled and competent employees excel to even higher levels, experience greater engagement with their organizations, and at the same time promote their personal development. It is based on the experience of practising managers, drawing on research, teaching and consulting contacts with over 4000 leaders from all business disciplines who use coaching in their work. Clearly written, without jargon, specific coaching techniques are illustrated through the use of short case studies and self-assessment exercises that will help the reader learn to apply the principles of The Coaching Manager quickly. The Second Edition has been updated with new ideas and cases that will show how developmental coaching can be integrated with all phases of the talent management process.
Managing Conflict at Work provides practical guidance on how to prevent, contain and resolve conflict in the workplace. It demonstrates how effective conflict management can have a powerful impact on the way organisations channel their energies; encouraging positive mindsets and building stronger and happier workforces. Putting the cost of rising conflict in context with recessionary times, it looks beyond individual cases to issues such as workforce motivation and corporate responsibility. The authors provide a wide range of practical techniques, tools and templates to support individuals who need to facilitate the resolution of employee disputes. Aimed not just at mediators and conflict practitioners, but at staff managers and anyone who needs to deal with people disputes; the book emphasises simple and practical ways for dealing with conflict situations - both when potential disputes are first emerging, and once a conflict has escalated into a formal complaint.Also including international case studies, extensive appendix of templates, tools and forms, including stakeholder analysis, mediation in-take forms and reflective questioning prompts, Managing Conflict at Work provides practical support to ensure that your company prevents disputes and stays within the law. The book is accompanied by an extensive range of ready-to-use templates and case studies and is supported by a dedicated website, providing information and downloads referred to in the book, as well as videos and podcasts.
Strong communication skills are arguably the most important attribute a manager can possess. Many managers believe they have already mastered the four basic communication skills ' speaking, listening, writing and reading ' but many simply go through the motions. In Effective Communication John Adair, Britain's foremost expert on leadership training, will tell you everything you need to know to enable you to: Use words to their maximum effectiveness in order to persuade and really be heard Train yourself to hear what other people are actually saying Construct your correspondence and presentations to get across what you want to say in the clearest manner Improve your assimilation and understanding of the thousands of words you have to read every day Including helpful advice on interviews, appraisals, giving and receiving criticism, conducting and participating in meetings, the use of visual aids, communication between departments and much more, this is the ultimate tool for improving your communication skills and helping you become a better manager.
In The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, author Stephen R. Covey presents a holistic, integrated, principle-centered approach for solving personal and professional problems. With penetrating insights and pointed anecdotes, Covey reveals a step-by-step pathway for living with fairness, integrity, service, and human dignity--principles that give us the security to adapt to change and the wisdom and power to take advantage of the opportunities that change creates.
Click hereto see more print books in the ITU Library&Archives about management and leadership.