The ITU Library and Archives Service acquires, preserves and provides access to a wide range of materials on telecommunications and related topics and on the history of ITU from 1865 to the present day. Our holdings include published works (print and electronic) and unique archival materials.
Our collections include:
The Library and Archives offer limited reference service to external researchers who are unable to visit in person. Please send us an email: info@itu-library-archives.libanswers.com.
The Library and Archives serve ITU Staff, delegates to ITU conferences and governing bodies and other meetings, and international organizations. are open to public reference and consultation on site by appointment only.
The ITU Library & Archives also welcome external visitors who work on a specific topic of research related to ITU's work: students, university professors, researchers, historians, librarians and archivists. If you are an external visitor, you need to request access to the ITU premises prior to your visit. To make an appointment, send us an email: info@itu-library-archives.libanswers.com.
Note that there are access restrictions on some types of documents. See the document "Access rules for archival records".
Purpose - Vision: In order to promote ITU’s history and to make unique ITU records widely available to researchers, ITU staff, and ITU delegates , the ITU Library and Archives Service has been working on a digitization programme for several years now. The purpose of the programme is to organize, catalogue, digitize and publish on the ITU website a selection of historical documents.
Priorities & Selections : Critical digitization :The ITU Library and Archives Service only digitizes ITU materials in order to avoid any copyright issues. Every scanning project is preceded by thorough research and appraisal of our collections. Our priorities are quality and uniqueness, rather than quantity and completeness. Our choices are driven by usage and demand.
Milestones: from project to programme : What began as a simple scanning project has developed into a full-scale digitization programme and into a web portal with a wealth of documents and information that trace the development of ITU as an international organization. Today, ITU Library and Archives are taking an active role in telling the story of ITU.
The Reading Room is located on the sixth floor of the Montbrillant building.
The Library and Archives are open to public reference and consultation by appointment only. To make an appointment, send us an email: info@itu-library-archives.libanswers.com.
Upon arrival, visitors to ITU must register at the reception desk at the Montbrillant building or the Tower and provide a valid ID with photo. For more information on locating our buildings, see this map.
The Library & Archives Reading Room is open on weekdays from 9:00 to 17:00 hours. During holidays (Christmas and Summer) access may be restricted.
Contact the Library&Archives:
International Telecommunication Union
Library&Archives Service
Place des Nations
CH-1211 Geneva 20
Switzerland
Telephone: +41 22 730 69 00
E-mail: info@itu-library-archives.libanswers.com
